Google Nexus 2016 release date | New Nexus UK price, features, specs

Android Nougat will come first to Nexus 2016 devices. We investigate rumours surrounding the new Nexus, including the Nexus 2016 release date, UK price, new feature and specifications. Rumour has it that the Google phones this year will be made by HTC and Huawei with codenames Sailfish and Marlin. They will be the launch devices for Android 7.0 Nougat. Also see: Nexus 5X review and Nexus 6P review.

You'll also be interested in: Google I/O 2016 as it happened | Android Nougat (& how to get Android Nougat now) | Android VR | Nexus 7 (2016) | Android Pay UK | Google Home

Note: According to The Telegraph, Google will be making its own phone this year. This means that, in common with Apple, it will have complete control over hardware and software and not have need to depend on a hardware partner. It followed this approach with the 2015 Pixel C, so it sounds plausible that it could try this with phones next. However, we do not believe this new Google phone is a Nexus phone, and it won't be the device on which Google unveils the final version of Android Nougat. Read on for rumours concerning the new Nexus.

Latest update: A supposed picture has emerged, via Tech Droider, of the screen of the so called HTC-made Marlin Nexus phone. Here's the screenshot, covered by a case, presumably to avoid any further design leaks. You can clearly see the 'Model number' listed as 'marlin' – though as with every leak we aren't sure if this is totally genuine. However, the device seems to be running Android Nougat, hinting at an upcoming model.

Android Police has published renders of the new Nexus 2016, although it acknowledges they are not final and the official press renders may differ. Based on the render and leaked information, Tech Configurations has made a 3D video rendering of what the phone might look like.

http://www.androidpolice.com/2016/07/05/exclusive-this-is-what-the-2016-nexus-phones-sailfish-and-marlin-will-look-like/

Nexus 2016 | New Nexus rumours: Nexus 2016 UK release date – When is the new Nexus coming out?

Nexus 2016 release date: September 2016 (TBC).

Google unveils a new Nexus smartphone every year (in 2015 it announced two), which it uses as the launch vehicle for its annual Android update. In 2016 we will see Android Nougat. Tradition sees the new operating system Developer Preview announced at Google I/O in early summer, and then released on the new Nexus 5 and/or new Nexus 6 phone around October time.

However, the Android Nougat Developer Preview was released a couple of months early this year, ahead of Google I/O. In mid-June we saw the release of Developer Preview 4, and there's just one more Developer Preview to go before the final release. This means it is possible that we'll see an earlier release for the new Android OS than in previous years – most likely September but potentially as early as August. Also see: When will my phone get Android Marshmallow?

(The Nexus 5X and 6P were announced at the end of September 2015, and the Nexus 6 before it in October 2014.)

The latest rumours on the new Nexus phones for 2016 have left us completely baffled. We've seen many sites reporting that the new Nexus 6 will be released in August, with the reasoning that in mid-June the price of the two-year-old (refurbished) Nexus 6 dropped to $180. There is a small amount of logic to this: It is not uncommon for manufacturers to drop the price of or discontinue an older-generation smartphone as they approach the release date of a newer model. But (a very big but), eBay is an online auction site and not Google, and the phone had already been removed from the Google Play Store. And the jump from a price drop in June to a release date in August is nothing more than speculation. (Or are we missing something here? Let us know in the comments.)

That said, an August release date just might be possible: in mid-June the fourth Developer Preview was released, and there's just one more to go before the final release. Since they have been appearing monthly, it is possible we'll get Developer Preview 5 in July and the final release in August.

Nothing has been confirmed about the price, but given that the Nexus 5X now costs from at £299 and the Nexus 6P from £449, we'd be very surprised if they were any more expensive.

As we've said, nothing is concrete right now, but we will continue to update this article over the coming year as and when we hear new snippets of Nexus 5 or Nexus 6 2016 information. Also see: Best phones 2016 and Best Android phones 2016.

Nexus 6P

Nexus 2016 | New Nexus rumours: Nexus 2016 UK release date – When is the new Nexus coming out?

Nexus 2016 release date: September 2016 (TBC).

Google unveils a new Nexus smartphone every year (in 2015 it announced two), which it uses as the launch vehicle for its annual Android update. In 2016 we will see Android Nougat. Tradition sees the new operating system Developer Preview announced at Google I/O in early summer, and then released on the new Nexus 5 and/or new Nexus 6 phone around October time.

However, the Android Nougat Developer Preview was released a couple of months early this year, ahead of Google I/O. In mid-June we saw the release of Developer Preview 4, and there's just one more Developer Preview to go before the final release. This means it is possible that we'll see an earlier release for the new Android OS than in previous years – most likely September but potentially as early as August. Also see: When will my phone get Android Marshmallow?

(The Nexus 5X and 6P were announced at the end of September 2015, and the Nexus 6 before it in October 2014.)

The latest rumours on the new Nexus phones for 2016 have left us completely baffled. We've seen many sites reporting that the new Nexus 6 will be released in August, with the reasoning that in mid-June the price of the two-year-old (refurbished) Nexus 6 dropped to $180. There is a small amount of logic to this: It is not uncommon for manufacturers to drop the price of or discontinue an older-generation smartphone as they approach the release date of a newer model. But (a very big but), eBay is an online auction site and not Google, and the phone had already been removed from the Google Play Store. And the jump from a price drop in June to a release date in August is nothing more than speculation. (Or are we missing something here? Let us know in the comments.)

That said, an August release date just might be possible: in mid-June the fourth Developer Preview was released, and there's just one more to go before the final release. Since they have been appearing monthly, it is possible we'll get Developer Preview 5 in July and the final release in August.

Nothing has been confirmed about the price, but given that the Nexus 5X now costs from at £299 and the Nexus 6P from £449, we'd be very surprised if they were any more expensive.

As we've said, nothing is concrete right now, but we will continue to update this article over the coming year as and when we hear new snippets of Nexus 5 or Nexus 6 2016 information. Also see: Best phones 2016 and Best Android phones 2016.

Nexus 2016 | New Nexus rumours: Who will make the new Nexus phones for 2016?

Rumours that HTC is working on two new Nexus phones for 2016 went into overdrive at the end of April 2016 following a tip from serial leaker @evleaks on Twitter.

However, Huawei has since allegedly confirmed that it is responsible for at least one of the new Nexus devices for 2016 (which could very well be a new Nexus 7 rather than a new phone). Huawei general manager for consumer business in South Africa said: "We’re doing the Nexus again this year, by the way."

Huawei was already tipped to be making the updated Nexus 6P by Chinese electronics industry analyst Pan Jiutang, via Weibo.com, yet others have claimed HTC is responsible for both.

Since we updated this article Huawei's PR has been in touch with the company's official comment on the subject: “We don’t comment on future products, as a matter of policy. Huawei is committed to creating the world’s most compelling and innovative devices, offering an exceptional performance and outstanding user experience.

"We are proud to have worked with Google, which is strong in innovation, on the Nexus 6P and will continue to collaborate in the future, such as our support for Daydream, the recently-announced platform for high performance mobile VR.”

Nexus 2016 | New Nexus rumours: Nexus 2016 specification rumours – Nexus 2016 new feature rumours

Again, we have to make it clear that everything you read here is merely rumours and speculation. As we've learned in the past, however, there is usually some truth behind the leaks. Here's what we've heard on the rumour mill so far:

• Google has confirmed that it will not be building the new Nexus phones itself, but Google CEO Sundar Pichai says it will be more opinionated in the design. That's not as extreme as the rumour earlier reported by Droid Life, which suggested that Google intended to apply "Apple-like control" over its new Nexus devices for 2016, and would be involved at every step of the design and manufacturing process, no longer requiring a second manufacturer such as LG, Huawei or HTC to build the device for it, nor add its name to it.

• Pan Jiutang has suggested that the new Nexus 6 2016 will be a high-performance handset running the Qualcomm Snapdragon 820 processor. This seems like a logical move, given that the Nexus 6P runs 2015's top Snapdragon chip, the 810. The Snapdragon 820 has an Adreno 530 GPU (with 40 percent better performance and efficiency than previous chips), the X12 LTE modem (which provides 33 percent better performance and 15 percent better power efficiency), the Hexagon 680 DPS (digital signal processor) and a quad-core Kryo CPU that will bring up to double the performance and power efficiency when compared to previous generations.

• The HTC-made Nexus 2016 phone codenamed Marlin has been spotted in the Geekbench database. It is shown to be running Android 7.0, with a quad-core processor (which could be the new Qualcomm Snapdragon 821) and 4GB of RAM. It scored 4969 points multi-core, making it faster that the iPhone 6s Plus but a little behind the Samsung Galaxy S7 and OnePlus 3 – you can see how this compares to other flagships in our article What's the fastest smartphone 2016?

• Previously, the number in each phone's name has been related to its screen size, with the Nexus 5 a standard smartphone and the Nexus 6 a phablet. According to Mocha RQ, HTC will build smaller Nexus phones, with 5- and 5.5in screens rather than the 5.2- and 5.7in displays we saw in 2015. The current 6P has a 5.7in Quad-HD display, and it's likely we'll see this again given that Sony has failed to wow critics with its first 4K smartphone screen. The new Nexus 5 may stick with a full-HD screen.

• Twitter tipster LlabTooFeR claims the codenames for the new Nexus 5 2016 and new Nexus 6 2016 are T50 and T55 – both of which hint towards the rumoured 5- and 5.5in screen sizes. They've also become known via codenames Sailfish (despite the existing mobile OS of the same name) and Marlin, with the latter recently been spotted on Google's Source site in a list that mentions three major devices. The other two are Angler and Bullhead.

• Regardless of the internal storage capacities, the new Nexus phones are expected to receive unlimited online photo- and video storage via Google Photos without having to reduce their file sizes. According to Android Police the latest Photos update includes text that describes a specific benefit for Nexus customers: "free unlimited storage for original quality photos and videos uploaded from their Nexus devices".

• We also know the new Nexus 5 and Nexus 6 2016 will be running a brand-new operating system, Android 7.0 Nougat.

• With Android Marshmallow building in support for USB-C, it's a given that the new Nexus 2016 phones will feature USB-C for data transfer and charging. The Snapdragon 820 also supports Qualcomm Quick Charge 3.0, for super-fast charging with a compatible mains adaptor.

• Android Police has published renders of the new Nexus 2016, although it acknowledges they are not final and the official press renders may differ.

http://www.androidpolice.com/2016/07/05/exclusive-this-is-what-the-2016-nexus-phones-sailfish-and-marlin-will-look-like/

We'll be updating this article with new rumours all year, so bookmark us and return another day for the latest new Nexus 5 and new Nexus 6 2016 leaks.

Read next: Best new phones coming in 2016.

Follow Marie Brewis on Twitter.

4 Comments
  1. Reply Mark 04.08.2016 at 16:17

    The Google Nexus 2016 yearth is a great smartphone. I think it’ll be much longer function than in the other, are essential and it’s diverse. This is a great invention. Thank’s very much for developers.

  2. Reply Margo 04.08.2016 at 17:53

    Very good phone. I like it very much and looking forward. I think it for everyone cool phone.

  3. Reply Nik 05.08.2016 at 10:59

    Google Nexus is really good phone. Excellent design! And also vert convinient. Thanks to developers.

  4. Reply Cyrus Brussell 22.08.2016 at 11:09

    Launch is getting closer, as the FCC has inspected the new Nexus devices. We still expect a late-September announcement for the new handsets.

Leave a reply